Oh, you're a vet?!?!

-ramblings from a cranky vet.

Welcome to my blog.

I’ve been a vet for 14 years.  I decided when I was 5 years old that I was going to be a vet when I grew up… mostly because I always liked animals more than people, honestly.  Little did I know then that I’m treating people just as much, if not more, sometimes, than their pets. 

People tend to piss me off.  But I’ve learned to have a greater appreciation for my fellow man through our common love of our four legged furry friends.

I hope to provide some interesting links, ideas, thoughts, and information for all animal lovers out there.  However, be warned that it is sarcasm that has kept me sane through these last 14 years, and I will continue to use it as needed. Otherwise, enjoy!

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Welcome to my blog.

  1. I have an old Rottie mix who keeps getting what seem like flesh eating sores around his face-mostly near nose and mouth. Antibiotics seem to keep them from getting too bad, but doesn’t prevent them. My vet says he’s never seen anything like them in his 30 years in practice. My two other dogs, despite licking him and being licked by him have no such problems so they don’t seem to be contagious. Once they heal they leave no really gnarly scars-are barely visible. But at their worst I worry that they are going to eat through his muzzle. Ever heard of or seen such a thing?

    • crankyvet on said:

      I would be most suspicious about allergies, drug reactions, or autoimmune disorders like pemphigus… it may require a skin biopsy of an area when it is flared up to diagnose… or if it’s been manageable and waxes and wanes with no other problems, it may just be something gross you get to see occasionally and you never know what it is!

Tell me what you think!

